Lancelin Ocean Classic trophies for Proffitt, Stanton

The Lancelin Ocean Classic is over for another year. Pictures: John Carter Photography


BEN Proffitt has won the Peter Volwater trophy at the 2018 Lancelin Ocean Classic and Dale Stanton the Ian Young trophy.

The Lancelin Ocean Classic started on Friday with the wave events with a new event the beach run on Saturday followed by the marathon from Ledge to Lancelin.

In the kitesurfing marathon open category Andrew Cooksey finished first with Mani Bisschops second, Alty Frisby third, Lincoln Sullivan fourth, Dale Stanton fifth and Billy Hamptom sixth.

In the women’s event Kathryn Davies was first, Rachael Hughes second and Karin Scheiwiller third.

Ian Young won the grand masters event with Kent Wright second and Harry Findling finishing in third place.

Michael Shepherd claimed the masters event followed by Brad Hill and Jonathan Parker.

The first junior home was Luke Atkinson and Logan Mccormick was second.

The twin tip was won by Daniel Anderson followed by Daniel Van Der Sluys (2nd), Luca De Prato (3rd), Adam Bjaerkse (4th) and Cooper Bater (5th).

LancelinOceanClassicJ14dThe windsurfing marathon elite category was won by Alexandre Cousin with Avan Griffith (2nd), Ben Proffitt (3rd), Julien Ventalon (4th), Mathias Moerman (5th) and Max Gaubert (6th).

Geoff Watters was first in the open category with Karin Jaggi and Ohhan Kwon filling the minor placings.

The grand masters category was claimed by Novak Jol with Claude Lecoq second and Mark Smith third.

The masters was won by Pierre Falloord with Tim Crommelin (2nd) and Mark Ferinand (3rd).

Kai Dunn won the junior event.