New Wanneroo councillors sworn in

The City of Wanneroo welcomed new and returning councillors on Monday, October 23.

NEW City of Wanneroo council members, including the North Coast ward’s Sonet Coetzee and Lewis Flood, will attend a special council meeting on Tuesday, October 31.

The successful North Coast ward candidates in the local government election held on Saturday, October 21 were sworn in during a ceremony in the city’s council chambers on Monday, October 23.

Former Wanneroo MLA Paul Miles (Central ward) was also sworn in.

The returning councillors are Domenic Zappa and Hugh Nguyen (both South ward), Dot Newton (Central ward) and Linda Aitken (North Coast ward).

Mayor Tracey Roberts congratulated her fellow elected members on their successful election.

“I look forward to working with all of our councillors as we represent the best interests of our community and strive to make the City of Wanneroo a vibrant place that our residents are proud to call home,” she said.

Former councillors Di Guise (Central ward) and Glynis Parker (North Coast ward) both lost their seats.