Regional travel bans start on Tuesday

The McGowan Government’s new regional travel bans will start at midnight on Tuesday. File picture

REGIONAL travel bans restricting movement between the metropolitan area and other regions such as the Wheatbelt will start from midnight on Tuesday, March 31.

Premier Mark McGowan announced the new restrictions this afternoon, which were also reported in Travel bans to restrict travel between Wanneroo and Gingin on Yanchep News Online yesterday.

Mr McGowan said exemptions would apply in circumstances including employment purposes, medical or veterinary reasons, delivery of essential services including health or emergency services, people living across regional boundaries, who may not have access to groceries or supplies immediately within their region, transport of goods, compassionate grounds, a family member has primary care responsibilities, for school, TAFE or tertiary study reasons, to escape domestic violence or due to an emergency.

The regional boundaries, which will be enforced if necessary by WA Police, will follow the Regional Development divisions apart from the Peel region.

Perth and Peel will be treated as one region.

Anyone who disobeys the regional bans can be fined $50,000.

The Wheatbelt regional division has 42 local governments including Gingin, Dandaragan, Moora, Chittering and Northam.

An additional restriction was also announced.

Mr McGowan said that under the Emergency Management Act gun shops and firearm dealerships in WA had closed at noon.

“It follows stage two restrictions to close down community sporting facilities and other venues such as shooting ranges and gun clubs,” he said.

“Whilst it is recognised licensed firearm owners and dealers exercise high compliance, these preventative measures are being taken in the interests of community safety.

“Exemptions will be put in place to ensure farmers and other rural landholders can continue to access ammunition for pest control and animal welfare reasons through registered firearm dealers.”


Regional travel bans start on Tuesday