Wanneroo mayor Tracey Roberts wins Pearce for Labor

Tracey Roberts and her husband Peter Roberts on their way to cast their votes for the 2022 federal election at the Mindarie Primary School. Picture: Anita McInnes

TRACEY Roberts has won the seat of Pearce for Labor – the first time a Liberal has not represented the electorate since it was established in 1990.

In that time only three politicians have previously held Pearce – Fred Chaney, Judi Moylan and most recently Christian Porter, who in December said he would not stand again after last year facing a historical rape allegation, which he has strenuously denied.

Mrs Moylan was first elected in 1993 and was re-elected in 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007 and 2010 before she retired in 2013.

On Mrs Moylan’s first trip to Canberra as a politician a male passenger on the plane mistook her for a flight attendant.
As Mrs Moylan was putting her jacket away in an overhead compartment he asked her to put his away as well – she calmly assured him she would, which led to peals of laughter from those who knew her real reason for being on the plane.

The latest redistribution means Pearce now consists most of the suburbs in the City of Wanneroo together with a few City of Swan suburbs.

The electorate was named in honour of Sir George Foster Pearce, 1870–1952.

Mr Pearce was a Senator for Western Australia (1901–38) and served as acting prime minister for seven months in 1916.

After Christian Porter said he would not stand for re-election the Liberals preselected City of Wanneroo councillor Linda Aitken.

Mrs Roberts took leave from her role as the mayor of the City of Wanneroo to run for Pearce.

This evening according to William Bowe at pollbludger.net Mrs Roberts has had a primary swing towards her of 9.7 per cent while there has been a swing away from the Liberals of 14.1 per cent.

On a two-party preferred basis the swing away from the Liberals is 13.4 per cent.

There has been a swing of preferences to Labor by 5.7 per cent.

Votes counted: 55, 998 out of 115,296 enrolled (48.6 per cent) – latest data up to May 22, 12.57am AEST.

Scott Morrison has conceded defeat and spoken to Labor leader Anthony Albanese who will become the 31st prime minister of Australia.

It is unclear whether Labor will be able to form a majority government or whether there will be a hung Parliament.

About 11.20pm the ABC Live Results said 64.2 per cent of votes had been counted, 11 seats in doubt and the Liberals/Nationals had 55 seats while Labor had 72 seat – 76 seats are needed to form a majority government.

The ABC’s Antony Green was also predicting the Liberals would retain Durack but there had been an 8.6 per cent swing to the ALP.