New North-East ward councillor sworn in

Bronwyn Smith of Butler attended her first City of Wanneroo special council meeting yesterday after being sworn in as the new North-East ward councillor. Picture: Anita McInnes

THE new North-East ward councillor was sworn in yesterday just before the City of Wanneroo’s special meeting to consider its annual financial statements and annual report.

On Wednesday, December 14 the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) announced high school teacher Bronwyn Smith of Butler was the winner of the extraordinary council election for the North-East ward.

The extraordinary council election was necessary after the previous North-East ward councillor Linda Aitken was elected as the mayor following the resignation of former mayor Tracey Roberts when she won the seat of Pearce in the federal election held on May 21 this year.

In the extraordinary North-East ward election Cr Bronwyn Smith received 39 per cent of the 2577 valid votes while 26 per cent of the total votes went to health service chief executive officer Mike Dale of Butler.

At the special council meeting held after the swearing in of Cr Smith the councillors voted unanimously to adopt the annual statutory financial statements for the year ended June 30 and the independent auditor’s report from the Office of the Auditor General.

But when the councillors voted on the next item – the city’s annual report – the vote was 10-1 with Central-West ward councillor Nat Sangalli voting against it.

Those voting for the item were Mayor Linda Aitken, deputy mayor Brett Treby, Cr Natalie Herridge, Cr Vinh Nguyen, Cr Jordan Wright, Cr Glynis Parker, Cr Sonet Coetzee, Cr Bronwyn Smith, Cr Frank Cvitan and Cr James Rowe.

In her candidate profile Cr Smith said her priorities for the local area included more security patrols and CCTV to improve community safety, working with local members to address water quality concerns, ensuring efficient use of ratepayers’ taxes, advocating for housing support, youth hubs and social services in the growing northern suburbs, supporting sustainable living and recycling initiatives, reducing red tape for local businesses and advocating for fair and responsible rates.

In the lead up to the extraordinary council election Cr Smith said she was a member of the Labor Party.

Her term expires on October 18, 2025.

The North-East ward consists of the suburbs of Butler, Nowergup, Merriwa, Ridgewood and north Clarkson.