New ward system for Wanneroo and candidate information

Yanchep News Online asks candidates two of the most common things voters in local government elections want to know. File picture

A NEW ward system will replace the City of Wanneroo’s old three-ward system following the local government election.

From Saturday, October 16 the city’s suburbs will be in a seven-ward system.

Out of the seven councillors up for re-election four – Linda Aitken, Sonet Coetzee, Lewis Flood and Paul Miles – have nominated for another four-year term while Dot Newton, Hugh Nguyen and Domenic Zappa did not re-nominate.

Yanchep News Online endeavoured to ask all candidates if they had not already included the information in their candidate profiles to name the suburb they live in and whether they were a member of a political party as they are two of the questions voters frequently ask candidates.

  • North ward: Two Rocks, Yanchep, Eglinton, Alkimos, Carabooda, Jindalee.

The candidates for North ward are Alex Figg of Yanchep, Sonet Coetzee of Yanchep and Gary Duffield of Alkimos.

Alex Figg is a member of the Labor Party.

Both Sonet Coetzee and Gary Duffield said they were not members of a political party.

  • North-East ward: Butler, Merriwa, Ridgewood, north Clarkson, Nowergup.

The candidates for North-East ward are Lewis Flood of Merriwa, Mike Dale of Butler, Linda Aitken of Wanneroo and Aker Makur of Ridgewood.

Lewis Flood, Mike Dale and Aker Makur said they were not members of a political party.

Linda Aitken is a member of the Liberal Party.

  • Central-West ward: Quinns Rocks, Mindarie, Tamala Park, south Clarkson, Neerabup.

The candidates for Central-West are Joanne Webber of Clarkson, Jim Anthony of Clarkson, Heather Cole of Quinns Rocks, Phil Bedworth of Mindarie and Helen Berry of Mindarie.

Joanne Webber is not a member of a political party but used to work for a politician.

Both Jim Anthony and Helen Berry said they were not members of a political party.

Heather Cole said she was not a member of or affiliated with a political party.

Phil Bedworth said he is a member of the Liberal Party.

  • Central-East ward: Pinjar, Carramar, Banksia Grove, Tapping, Ashby, Mariginiup, Jandabup.

The candidates for Central-East ward are Paul Miles of Yanchep, Saba Rahi of Banksia Grove, Shelley McGinn of Wanneroo and Anna Weatherill of Tapping.

Paul Miles is a member of the Liberal Party and Saba Rahi is a member of the Labor Party.

Both Shelley McGinn and Anna Weatherill said they were not members of a political party.

  • Central ward: Wanneroo, Sinagra, Hocking, Pearsall, Gnangara.

The candidates for Central ward are Jordan Wright of Hocking and Dianne Guise of Mindarie.

Jordan Wright said he was not a member of a political party.

Dianne Guise is a member of the Labor Party but said she values her independence and party politics should play no part in council.

  • South-West ward: east Woodvale, Wangara, Madeley, Darch, Landsdale, north-west Marangaroo.

The candidates for South-West ward are Peter Jenkins of Landsdale, Natalie Herridge of Landsdale, Virendra Parikh of Darch, Clinton Filardi and Siham Benz of Madeley.

Peter Jenkins, Virendra Parikh, Siham Benz and Natalie Herridge all said they were not members of a political party.

Yanchep News Online is yet to hear from Clinton Filardi.

  • South ward: Marangaroo, Alexander Heights, Girrawheen, Koondoola.

The candidates for South ward are Marino Salinas of Marangaroo, Domenic Caccamo of Gnangara, Liam Nguyen of Darch and James Rowe of Girrawheen.

Marino Salinas and James Rowe both said they were members of the Labor Party.

Domenic Caccamo and Liam Nguyen said they were not members of a political party.

The Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) conducts the election on behalf of the city.

Election Packages containing information on the candidates, instructions on how to vote, the ballot paper, and the return envelopes, were posted to electors about three weeks before Election day.

All ballot papers can be completed anytime and returned by 6pm, Saturday, October 16 at the latest to be included in the count for the election.

  • By supporting local businesses, you support local news.

Local Directory