Four new councillors elected to Wanneroo council

This evening four new councillors were elected to the City of Wanneroo with three sitting councillors returned. File picture

NEW City of Wanneroo councillors will be sworn in at a ceremony at the civic centre on Monday, October 18 at which time the city’s new seven-ward system will also take effect.

The Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) has confirmed the following elected councillors:

North ward · Sonet Coetzee joins sitting council member Chris Baker in representing the North ward.

North-East ward · Linda Aitken joins sitting council member Glynis Parker in representing the North-East ward.

Central-West ward · Helen Berry joins sitting council member Natalie Sangalli in representing the Central-West ward.

Central-East ward · Paul Miles joins sitting council member Jacqueline Huntley in representing the Central-East ward.

Central ward · Jordan Wright joins sitting council member Frank Cvitan in representing the Central ward.

South-West ward · Natalie Herridge joins sitting council member Vinh Nguyen in representing the South-West ward.

South ward · James Rowe joins sitting council member Brett Treby in representing the South ward.

Polling for the election closed at 6pm today.

Local government elections are held every two years.

The mayor and councillors are each elected to four-year terms, with half the council members elected every two years.

An election for the position of deputy mayor will be held on Tuesday, October 26 at a special council meeting.

  • By supporting local businesses, you support local news.


Local Directory