Early voting in Butler and Wanneroo

The early voting centres at Butler and Wanneroo will remain open until the day before the March 13 state election.

BY closing time yesterday, a total of 5039 people had voted at the Butler early voting centre while 4339 had cast their vote at the Wanneroo early voting centre, according to Western Australian Electoral Commission data.

Butler has a total of 32,711 eligible voters who reside in the suburbs of Alkimos, Butler, Carabooda*, Eglinton, Jindalee, Merriwa, Ridgewood, Two Rocks and Yanchep.

The electorate of Wanneroo has a total of 31,301 people enrolled to vote who live in the suburbs of Ashby, Banksia Grove, Carabooda*, Carramar, Gnangara, Jandabup, Mariginiup, Neerabup*, Nowergup, Pinjar, Sinagra, Tapping and Wanneroo.

The early voting centres at Butler and Wanneroo will remain open until the day before the March 13 state election – this means in-person early voting closes on March 12 when all early voting centres cease operating at 6pm.

On March 13 polling places throughout the state will open for voting from 8am to 6pm.

In his blog 2021 WA Election – Tracking the Early Vote on March 5 Antony Green said across the state 210,693 pre-poll votes had been taken representing 12.3 per cent of enrolled voters and 311,676 postal vote applications had been received representing 18.2 per cent of enrolled voters.

Mr Green said 57,818 postal votes had been returned and processed by the WAEC representing 3.4 per cent of enrolled voters or 8.6 per cent of postal vote applications.

He said after six days of pre-polling, 12.3 per cent of enrolled voters had pre-poll voted compared with after six days of pre-polling in Queensland the rate was 19.8 per cent.

But he be pointed out that Queensland had only two weeks of pre-poll voting while Western Australia started pre-polling three days earlier.

He said it should be noted that almost all pre-polls and most returned postal votes would be counted on election night, but only for the lower house and Legislative Council pre-poll and postal vote counting would start the next day.

  • Not all voters in Carabooda* and Neerabup* are in the same electorate.